Posted by Curt on 2 January, 2021 at 10:50 am. 17 comments already!



Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX) is leading a group of 11 Senators who plan to object to certifying state Electoral College votes on Wednesday.

The group, which includes Sens. Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), and Mike Braun (R-Ind.), and Senators-Elect Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), and Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), are also calling for the resurrection of an Electoral Commission to conduct an emergency audit of the results.

According to Axios, the move pits the group of GOP Senators against Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, who had ‘hoped to avoid the spectacle of his party leading a last-ditch effort to prevent Joe Biden from being declared the 2020 election winner.’

The move comes after Sen. Josh Howley (R-MO) said that he would raise a general objection.

“Congress should immediately appoint an Electoral Commission, with full investigatory and fact-finding authority, to conduct an emergency 10-day audit of the election returns in the disputed states. Once completed, individual states would evaluate the Commission’s findings and could convene a special legislative session to certify a change in their vote, if needed,” the eleven Senators said in a statement.

  • The group noted a similar commission – made of five representatives, five senators and five Supreme Court justices – reviewed allegations of fraud in the 1876 election.
  • “Accordingly, we intend to vote on Jan. 6 to reject the electors from disputed states as not ‘regularly given’ and ‘lawfully certified’ (the statutory requisite), unless and until that emergency 10-day audit is completed.” -Axios

Notably, Democrats have raised similar election challenges in the past.

The last three times a Republican has been elected president — Trump in 2016 and George W. Bush in both 2000 and 2004 — Democrats in the House have brought objections to the electoral votes in states the GOP nominee won. In early 2005 specifically, Sen. Barbara Boxer, D-Calif., along with Rep. Stephanie Tubbs, D-Ohio, objected to Bush’s 2004 electoral votes in Ohio. -PJ Media

See below for the full text of a joint statement from the Cruz-led coalition:

Read more

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x